MEMORIES…

“You’ve changed, changed a lot,” she said with a sigh As tears welled up in her eyes Her voice was soft, but her words were clear And I knew that something was wrong, my dear

I wanted to tell her how I felt To explain that my love for her had never left That I missed the days when we would talk and fight But now it seemed like we were living separate lives

I could see the hurt in her face And I knew that I was to blame But I couldn’t bring myself to speak To tell her that I was feeling weak

What if she thought I didn’t care? Or worse, that I wasn’t even there? I couldn’t bear the thought of her pain So I chose to keep my words restrained

But as she turned to leave, I knew That I had to make a promise true That I would love her always and forever And that our bond would never wither

I hugged her tight, and whispered in her ear “I won’t miss you, mother, but I’ll always be near To listen to your voice, to hold your hand And to be with you, wherever life may land”

She looked at me, her eyes now dry And I knew that our love would never die We may have changed, but we’ll always be Mother and child, for eternity.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started